Remember Your Just-Before-Sleep Ideas With This Simple Technique

What I started doing to stop forgetting my greatest ideas

Hana Makhlouf
5 min readMay 7, 2021
Photo by James Yarema on Unsplash

Let me start by describing a common scenario.

You are about to go to sleep. You are in those 5–10 minutes where you aren't really awake but you’re not asleep either. In those few minutes, some incredible ideas start rushing to your mind. You want to somehow record them but you don't have the means to do so.

You convince yourself that you’ll remember them the next morning, maybe even repeat it to yourself a few times hoping that will stick until the next morning.

You eventually fall asleep and reality hits the next morning when you have completely forgotten that amazing idea.

This used to happen to me all the time until I discovered one of my favourite ‘creativity hacks’ that changed the game for me — my bedside notepad. It is what it sounds like: a basic notepad that I put next to my bed. I can reach for it very easily and I can immediately write anything that comes to mind.

This is not a journal.

Let me explain.

Over the past couple of years, every night, in the short period between getting into bed and actually falling asleep, at least 3 really…

--

--

Hana Makhlouf

Software engineer by day. Passionate about everything tech, reading and self-development👩🏽‍💻